Skip to content

Refugees (Not) Welcome: European Exile Scholars at Harvard in the 1930s and 1940s


  • Iryna Mykhailova – EU Marie Skłodowska-Curie Global Fellow, Early Modern World, Harvard University; Research Grant Holder, Department of Philosophy and Cultural Heritage, Ca’ Foscari University of Venice
  • Laurel Leff – Professor of Journalism, Northeastern University
  • Sebastian Musch – Alfred Landecker Lecturer, Department of History and the Institute for Migration Research and Intercultural Studies (IMIS), Osnabrück University; Starr Fellow Spring 2024, Center for Jewish Studies, Harvard University
  • Chair Peter E. Gordon – Amabel B. James Professor of History, Harvard University; Resident Faculty & Seminar Co-chair, Minda de Gunzburg Center for European Studies, Harvard University; Faculty Affiliate, Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures, Harvard University; Faculty Affiliate, Department of Philosophy, Harvard University