Skip to content

Celebrating CES Senior Thesis Grant Recipients 2019-2020


Rebecca Thou

Concentration & Secondary: History & Literature and French, Jewish Studies

Thesis Title: 'French' Theory? The Intellectual Reverberations of Hélène Cixous' Juiféminité

Countries traveled for research: France

Thesis Advisors: Françoise Lionnet, Professor of Romance Languages and Literatures & Professor of African and African American Studies in Residence, Harvard University

Kathryn L. Brackney, Lecturer in History & Literature, Harvard University

Awards: Edward Chandler Cumming Prize - awarded for the thesis of highest distinction in History & Literature

Harry and Cecile Starr Prize - awarded for the best thesis in Jewish Studies

Selena Zhao

Concentration & Secondary: Government, Integrative Biology

Thesis Title: 'Understanding the Elite-Mass Divergence in Sectarianism: A Case Study of Northern Ireland

Countries traveled for research: United Kingdom (Northern Ireland)

Awards: Philo Sherman Bennett Prize – awarded by the Department of Government for the best essay discussing the principles of free government

Thesis Advisors: Melani Cammett, Acting Director (2019-2020), Weatherhead Center for International Affairs; Clarence Dillon Professor of International Affairs, Harvard University; Professor, Department of Global Health and Population, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.

Previous CES grant: Internship at the Tony Blair Institute for Global Change (2018)

Matthew Keating

Concentration: Government

Thesis Title: From Lesvos to Leipzig: Comparative Legal Frameworks and Obstacles for LGBTQ Asylum Seekers in the European Union

Countries traveled for research:

Awards: Thomas Temple Hoopes Prize 2019-2020 – awarded for excellent undergraduate work.

Thesis Advisors: Jacqueline Bhabha, FXB Director of Research, Professor of the Practice of Health and Human Rights, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health; CES Local Affiliate.

Previous CES grant: United States Embassy in France – Stanley H. Hoffmann Undergraduate Research and Travel Grant Recipient