Skip to content

The John F. Kennedy Memorial Fellowship

(Information for German Scholars)

Benjamin Braun, Eva Schliephake, Hanna Lierse & Eva Marlene Hausteiner (Kennedy Fellows 2016-2017)
Sebastian Koos (left), 2015 recipient of the Kennedy Fellowship, with Visiting Scholar Béla Filep (right)

The John F. Kennedy Memorial Fellowship was established in 1966 as an endowment with funds from the German Federal Government and German industry as a lasting legacy to the memory of the slain U.S. president.

Each spring, up to three fellowships are granted on a competitive basis to post-doctoral German scholars who are in the process of writing the Habilitation or an equivalent work.

Since its establishment in 1966, the John F. Kennedy Memorial Fellowship grants fellowships to post-doctoral German scholars.

Fellowships provide a stipend of $60,000 for 10 months of residential research between September and June; other benefits, such as health insurance, are included. Fellows join other visiting researchers at CES as part of the Visiting Scholars Program.

This Fellowship is administered by the DAAD. Final selections are made by the CES Steering Committee. Fellows are expected to attend a weekly Visiting Scholars seminar, where work in progress is presented to colleagues for feedback.

Application Details

To be eligible for a John F. Kennedy Memorial Fellowship, applicants must:

  • Have German citizenship.
  • Have completed all doctorate requirements and must have a PhD degree at the time of the application.
  • Have completed their doctorate no more than 7 years prior to the application and may not hold a full professorship (W3 in the German case).
  • Be a graduate of a German university or have an equivalent diploma.
  • Be working on topics focusing on Europe and/or the United States in the fields of political science, contemporary history, economics, sociology, political economy, anthropology and international relations.
  • Have excellent command of English.

Preference is given to applicants who intend to have academic careers in Germany. Applicants currently living in the United States are not eligible. Harvard graduates or recipients of previous residential fellowships are eligible to apply after seven years.

The deadline to apply for the 2019-2020 academic year has passed.